Rally the World – Volkswagen celebrate their achievement of the 2013 Rally World Championship (video)

post sponsored by Volkswagen

Rally the World” aims to bring the world of Rally back to the people.

Here is a brief video in which Volkswagen celebrate their achievement of winning the 2013 World Rally Championship.

20 different manufacturers have won a World Rally Championship event, and a further ten have finished on the podium. Sébastien Loeb and Citroën have dominated since 2004, winning every championship until Volkswagen knocked them off the top spot this year.

Suzuki and Subaru pulled out of the WRC at the end of the 2008 championship, both citing the economic downturn then affecting the automotive industry for their withdrawal. Mini and Ford both pulled out of the WRC at the end of the 2012 championship, due to a similar economic downturn affecting the European market.

A typical WRC team will consist of about 40 people on the events, with a further 60–100 at the team base.

Manufacturers and manufacturer-backed teams usually have two or three drivers participating in each rally who are eligible to score points. The total number of crews (driver and his co-driver) in the rallies varied from 47 (Monte Carlo and Mexico) to 108 (Great Britain) during the 2007 season.

In 2012, The Ford World Rally Team and The Mini WRC Team both announced their departure from the World Rally Championships for the 2013 season. Volkswagen and Hyundai made their return to the championship in 2013 and Volkswagen did it with a bang.

Well done Volkswagen.



Leave a Reply

Please write your reply below. We will not publish your email address.

Mercedes AMG-ONE

Porsche 917K

1956 Maserati 250F

Get in touch with us

Looking to advertise on My Car Heaven?
Would you like to join our team, or have an enquiry for us?

Find out how

Receive My Car Heaven updates

Subscribe to the My Car Heaven Newsletter to be kept up to date with all the latest posts, competitions and happenings.

Terms & Conditions